Carrot Cake Muffins

13 Oct

sneaky lurking teapot.

What? A new post?? Yep- the exams are over and I am back to blogging thank god.

And what better way to get over the stress of it all by concocting a muffin recipe. I was very worried when I put this mixture in the oven- it didn’t look like any muffin batter I had made before. And with “baking is a science” ringing in my ears I shut the door.

35 minutes later I was very relieved (and more than a little surprised) to see what looked like muffins staring back at me.

Ingredients-

Muffins:

230g of plain flour

2/3 tablespoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

3 eggs

2 (medium) cooking apples, grated

100 g brown sugar

350g of grated carrot ( 3 medium sized ones- ish.)

Frosting:

150g cream cheese

1 tablespoon icing sugar

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence

Method:

Beat the eggs with the sugar. Then sift in all the dry ingredients and mix until combined. This will look quite dry, but do not fear (like I did.)

I have a handy grater attachment for a food processor, which got the carrot and apple shredded into nice long pieces. If you don’t have such a dealy- use whatever side of the grater will get you nice long strips.

Add the grated apple and carrot to the mixture and fold until it is all combined.

This was moment of fear 2- as I looked upon a ball of grated stuff lightly coated in a batter.

Bake at 175 celcius for 30-35 minutes.

For the frosting beat all three ingredients together and slather on. Complicated like.

Leave a comment.... go on!

