We all make mistakes.

18 Feb

Do you know food-bloggers never make mistakes? Never. Not even a slice of burnt toast. It’s in the contract. I tell a lie. I wish this was the case- as if it was I would have had a pleasant meal the other night. I didn’t.

Myself and my other half decided we would attempt sushi as we are both big fans. I consulted a few recipes online about how best to cook the rice. I duly set about washing it, cooking it slowly at a low boil. In the meantime I prepped the seasoning for the rice. While I did this- we seared some delicious fillet steak (We didn’t want to brave raw fish at home,) and sliced some perfectly ripe avocados. The omens were good.

Then we assembled our first rolls, it took some practice getting the level of filling correct- but we got there. We cling-filmed them, flung them into the fridge and then sliced.

Unfortunately- despite our care at looking over the rice- it came out tasting like wallpaper paste mixed with vinegar. It looked not dissimilar also. The proportions of the recipe were all wrong. We got halfway through the plate of sushi, before we started picking out the steak and avocado. Then we just gave up and ordered a pizza.

 

Hi I’m David and I make mistakes.

 

 

8 Responses to “We all make mistakes.”

  1. Caitriona February 18, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    Mistakes? Food bloggers *NEVER* make mistakes.
    Ahem.
    Like trying to burn down the house making creme brulee.
    No, never.
    Nice pizza?

  2. stefanovozza February 18, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Haha. Happens to the best of us. I’ve often had to cook recipes 3-4 times before I’m happy enough to post them.

    • thesilverchicken February 18, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

      This was just borderline comical- so thought I’d blog about it!

  3. French Foodie in Dublin February 18, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    You’re brave, at least you wrote about your ‘mistake’! I’ve always wanted to make sushi but never tried.
    I hope you enjoyed your pizza!

    • thesilverchicken February 18, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

      Ah it was just funny so I thought I’d blog it:) Pizza was tasty.

  4. Aoife Mc February 19, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    Hi David,

    My name is Aoife and I too make mistakes. Like, all the time!

    What kind of rice did you use? Did you let it cool completely before adding it to the nori sheets? I think that helps.

    I used this recipe the first time I ever made sushi and it worked a treat. http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1813661/smoked-salmon-and-avocado-sushi

    Give it another go – hopefully you’ll have more luck the second time!

    • thesilverchicken February 19, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      Used sushi rice. I actually tasted that recipe at Christmas- someone else made it.

      Ye cooling the rice completely was part of the learning curve the other night;) we got the trick of the rolls- it was just the rice/vinegar that was all wrong…

Leave a comment.... go on!

