Chocolate and beetroot brownies

29 Mar
Swear I didn't eat them..

Swear I didn’t eat them..

 

Recently the nice people in Green & Black’s got onto me to let me know about their easter egg range. Even nicer, they sent me a few bars from their product range to sample. Rather than eat them all myself, I thought I would make some brownies and treat my friends. In my house, my sister makes the best brownies- so to rival them, I needed to do something a little different. I had heard chocolate and beetroot went well together so I thought I would give it a whirl. As we have someone who eats gluten-free in my house, I was also seeking a recipe with a low flour level so I can adapt it for them in the future, without too much hassle.

 

Ingredients:

250g Green & Black’s dark chocolate

250g softened butter

3 eggs (room temperature)

250g Caster sugar

100g self-raising flour

Pinch of salt

50g ground almonds

250g grated cooked beetroot. (Not pickled. Fresh preferably!)

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line a suitable baking tray with grease-proof paper.

Over a pot of simmering water, place a glass bowl and melt the butter and chocolate.

While they are getting to know each other, beat the eggs and the sugar until they get creamy.

While this is all going on grate the beetroot.

When the chocolate and butter have melted whisk it into the sugar and eggs mixture. After they have combined, sift in the flour and add the ground almonds- fold them in gently. Lastly add the grated beetroot and gently combine it into the mixture.

Bake for about 40 minutes. After 30/35 check how they are getting on to avoid the brownies over-cooking. Stick a skewer into the brownies, it shouldn’t come out completely clean but equally it shouldn’t be liquidy.

2 Responses to “Chocolate and beetroot brownies”

  1. Caitriona March 30, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    That’s so funny I also had a query about using pickled beetroot in my cake recently. I’m still scouring out my brain at the thought of the taste.

Leave a comment.... go on!

